Kamay ni Hesus Shrine & Grotto (Via Dolorosa Grotto)

Updated: June 22, 2015
Kamay ni Hesus is a religious shrine located in Brgy. Tinamnam, Lucban, Quezon. Constructed in 2003 and completed in 2004, this place has been the venue for Senakulo, a catholic ritual during the Holy Week and other religious activities.
The grotto was founded by Father Joey Faller as the Mecca of healing and a place of renewal of Christian life and purification. He performs a healing mass in the church at the foot of the hill, the Kamay ni Hesus Healing Church.
To get to the hill, you have to walk for 5 to 10 minutes from the main entrance.  It might take longer if you want to wander around first.  Along the way to the church, beside the covered walkway, is the Gallery of Saints, where you'll see life-size statues of saints. Opposite the gallery of saints is the Retreat Center.
Replica of the Last Supper
To get to the top of the hill with the statue is no joke. The right side of the hill has 278 steps going up and 292 steps on the left side going down. The climb is in a zigzag way because you must pass by the life-sized sculpture of the 14 stations of the cross along the way.
Jesus is Nailed to the Cross
Kamay ni Hesus Shrine is also known as Via Dolora Grotto, which also means Stations of the Cross or Way of Sorrows or just simply, The Way. Please click here for more information on the 14 Stations of the Cross.

For devotees and a lot of Catholics, when you have faith this struggle in climbing is nothing. Young or old, they climb this hill under the heat of the sun. When I went there with my sister and my mother, I heard one of the kids said after reaching the top, "Mamamatay na yata ako (I think I'm dying)".  I can't even laugh because I'm also running out of breath.
50-foot statue of the Ascending Jesus Christ
View of the town from the atop the hill
When you reach the top, you will be rewarded with a refreshing view of the town. You'll also be amazed on how tall the statue really is. To make your climb worthy, stay there for a moment to catch your breathe, look at the view and the most important thing, to offer a prayer.
The 50-foot statue was donated by Mr. Benito Brizuela, one of the people Father Joey healed and one of the benefactors in building the holy place. According to the steel plate on the foot of the statue, Jesus appeared in Mr. Brizuela's dream after he was healed, telling him to help Father Joey in building the holy place.
The entrance going to hill used to be at the back of the church but now it's located at the front of the church. Keep on mind that this is a Holy place so please observe and follow their rules.
the popular image of the mother carrying his son - Pietà
At the exit, you'll see a replica of the famous mother and son image, the Pietà. Other attractions are also located just after you exit and behind the church. The most popular among the attractions are the Garden of Eden, Noah's Ark & Angel's Hill.
Two entrance gates of the Garden of Eden
Archangels Gabriel & Lucifer just beside Eden Garden's entrance
Garden of Eden shows statues of Adam & Eve that represent their story.  From when they were created and until the time they ate the apple.
What will caught your attention after entering the garden is the statue of the Archangels Gabriel and Lucifer. Showing how Gabriel defeated Lucifer in his evil form.
view of Noah's Ark at the entrance of Garden of Eden
Noah's Ark the house of prayer and spirituality that serves as the house for the priests during retreat. I wished I can go inside the Ark, but I didn't try or even ask.  It's a holy place and should be respected. Though I had a glimpse of their reception area.
Noah's Ark reception area
When I visited the shrine again on my own, I actually timed my climb.  Going up I did it for 8 minutes, that's with a couple of stops to catch my breath.  And that's also because I did not stop at the 14 Stations of the Cross since I've seen them already.  Going down took me 4 minutes with a just a stop to take a picture of the statue for the last time.
One of the stores selling religious items
Souvenirs shops & religious items stores can be found near the entrance of the Garden of Eden. They offer different items like t-shirts, key chains and other religious items.
As I'm about to leave, I've seen this sign and decided on checking the Luklukan ni Maria site.  I know that when a statue of Christ is built, there's also a statue for Mary.
 I arrived there and found no one, though there are melted candles at the foot of the statue.  It's not as popular as the statue of Christ, but one should pay respect to the mother. I will not get tired coming back here given the chance.  And I make sure that when I do, I will be able to attend the healing mass.
I recently visited the grotto again in June 22, 2015 and saw that they finally put a name below the Luklukan ni Maria shrine. If you are planning on visiting the grotto, make sure to go there early in the morning to avoid the heat of the sun.

Click here on how to get there.

14 Stations of the Cross at Kamay ni Hesus

The 14 Stations of the Cross refers to the series of events from Jesus' passion and death. It also refers to the prayers Catholics say to reflect those images. This is the reminder for us on how he suffered from saving us.

14 Stations of the Cross are also called Via Dolorosa or Way of Sorrows or just simply, The Way. However, in Jerusalem, it's believed that the actual path where Jesus walk is the Via Dolororosa. Where the stations and the actual places where the events occurred. 

I. Jesus Is Condemned to Death.
Pontius Pilate condemns Jesus to death.
II. Jesus Takes Up His Cross.
Jesus willingly accepts and patiently bears his cross.
III. Jesus Falls the First Time.
Weakened by torments and by loss of blood, Jesus falls beneath his cross.
IV. Jesus Meets His Sorrowful Mother.
Jesus meets his mother, Mary, who is filled with grief.

V. Simon of Cyrene Helps Jesus Carry the Cross.
Soldiers force Simon of Cyrene to carry the cross.
VI. Veronica Wipes the Face of Jesus.
Veronica steps through the crowd to wipe the face of Jesus. 

VII. Jesus Falls a Second Time.
Jesus falls beneath the weight of the cross a second time.

VIII. Jesus Meets the Women of Jerusalem.
Jesus tells the women to weep not for him but for themselves and for their children.
IX. Jesus Falls the Third Time.
Weakened almost to the point of death, Jesus falls a third time.

X. Jesus Is Stripped of His Garments.
The soldiers strip Jesus of his garments, treating him as a common criminal.

XI. Jesus Is Nailed to the Cross.
Jesus' hands and feet are nailed to the cross.
XII. Jesus Dies on the Cross.
After suffering greatly on the cross, Jesus bows his head and dies.
XIII. Jesus Is Taken Down From the Cross.
The lifeless body of Jesus is tenderly placed in the arms of Mary, his mother.

XIV. Jesus Is Laid in the Tomb.
Jesus' disciples place his body in the tomb.
Although not part of the 14 Stations of the Cross, the Resurrection of Jesus is sometimes included as the 15th Station.
Jesus has Risen
The images of the the 14 Stations of the Cross can be seen in the nave or along the path of the Roman Catholic churches. When I was a kid, I used to follow the story not really realizing what has happened. As I grow up, I had a clear idea and know what these images stand for.
Ascending Jesus

Kamay ni Hesus Healing Church

Kamay ni Hesus Healing Church is located inside the vicinity of the Kamay ni Hesus and situated just before the hill where the Ascending Jesus statue is standing. The church is a very popular place for people with illness and has found nothing to cure them.
Unless otherwise stated, Lakwatserang Ligaw is the legal copyright owner of all materials on this site © Lakwatserang Ligaw | Template by Ipietoon Cute Blog Design