14 Stations of the Cross at Kamay ni Hesus

The 14 Stations of the Cross refers to the series of events from Jesus' passion and death. It also refers to the prayers Catholics say to reflect those images. This is the reminder for us on how he suffered from saving us.

14 Stations of the Cross are also called Via Dolorosa or Way of Sorrows or just simply, The Way. However, in Jerusalem, it's believed that the actual path where Jesus walk is the Via Dolororosa. Where the stations and the actual places where the events occurred. 

I. Jesus Is Condemned to Death.
Pontius Pilate condemns Jesus to death.
II. Jesus Takes Up His Cross.
Jesus willingly accepts and patiently bears his cross.
III. Jesus Falls the First Time.
Weakened by torments and by loss of blood, Jesus falls beneath his cross.
IV. Jesus Meets His Sorrowful Mother.
Jesus meets his mother, Mary, who is filled with grief.

V. Simon of Cyrene Helps Jesus Carry the Cross.
Soldiers force Simon of Cyrene to carry the cross.
VI. Veronica Wipes the Face of Jesus.
Veronica steps through the crowd to wipe the face of Jesus. 

VII. Jesus Falls a Second Time.
Jesus falls beneath the weight of the cross a second time.

VIII. Jesus Meets the Women of Jerusalem.
Jesus tells the women to weep not for him but for themselves and for their children.
IX. Jesus Falls the Third Time.
Weakened almost to the point of death, Jesus falls a third time.

X. Jesus Is Stripped of His Garments.
The soldiers strip Jesus of his garments, treating him as a common criminal.

XI. Jesus Is Nailed to the Cross.
Jesus' hands and feet are nailed to the cross.
XII. Jesus Dies on the Cross.
After suffering greatly on the cross, Jesus bows his head and dies.
XIII. Jesus Is Taken Down From the Cross.
The lifeless body of Jesus is tenderly placed in the arms of Mary, his mother.

XIV. Jesus Is Laid in the Tomb.
Jesus' disciples place his body in the tomb.
Although not part of the 14 Stations of the Cross, the Resurrection of Jesus is sometimes included as the 15th Station.
Jesus has Risen
The images of the the 14 Stations of the Cross can be seen in the nave or along the path of the Roman Catholic churches. When I was a kid, I used to follow the story not really realizing what has happened. As I grow up, I had a clear idea and know what these images stand for.
Ascending Jesus


Post a Comment

Thank you for reading! Please share and like my Facebook page :)

Unless otherwise stated, Lakwatserang Ligaw is the legal copyright owner of all materials on this site © Lakwatserang Ligaw | Template by Ipietoon Cute Blog Design